Check out the OSU Libraries’ free Graduate Student & Faculty Fall Term Workshops. Registration is encouraged, but not required. For complete session descriptions, visit the workshop calendar page.  Can’t make it to a session?  Some of the sessions have handouts or online tutorials: 

Questions?  Ask Colleen Johnson,

Intro to LaTex

Monday, October 7, 3:00  – 4:30 p.m., Autzen Classroom

Intro to Zotero: A Web-Based Way to Manage Your Citations

Wednesday, October 9, 1:00 – 2:30 p.m., Autzen Classroom

Intermediate/Advanced Zotero

Wednesday, October 9, 3:00 – 4:30 p.m., Autzen Classroom

Intro to Qualtrics – Making Great Surveys

Thursday, October 10, 1:00 – 2:30 p.m., Autzen Classroom

Advanced Qualtrics

Thursday, October 10, 3:00 – 4:30 p.m., Autzen Classroom

Researching the Literature Review

Monday, October 14, 4:00 – 5:30 p.m., Autzen Classroom

Researching the Literature Review

Tuesday, October 15, 5:00 – 6:30 p.m., Autzen Classroom

Copyright and Fair Use in Research and Teaching

Monday, October 21, 12:00 – 1:00 p.m., Autzen Classroom

Introduction to Git – Beginner **Registration Required**

Monday, October 21, 1:00 – 2:30 p.m., Autzen Classroom

Introduction to Git – Advanced**Registration Required**

Monday, October 21, 3:00 – 4:00 p.m., Autzen Classroom

Intro to MATLAB

Friday, October 25, 3:00 – 5:00 p.m., Autzen Classroom

Basic EndNote

Wednesday, October 30, 3:00 – 4:30 p.m., Autzen Classroom

Intermediate/Advanced EndNote

Wednesday, October 30, 4:45 – 5:45 p.m., Autzen Classroom 

Intro to Qualtrics – Making Great Surveys

Friday, November 1, 1:00 – 2:30 p.m., Autzen Classroom

Advanced Qualtrics

Friday, November 1, 3:00 – 4:30 p.m., Autzen Classroom

Creative Commons Licenses

Wednesday, November 6, 3:00 – 4:30 p.m., Autzen Classroom

Intro to Zotero: A Web-Based Way to Manage Your Citations

Friday, November 8, 1:00 – 2:30 p.m., Autzen Classroom

Intermediate/Advanced Zotero

Friday, November 8, 3:00 – 4:30 p.m., Autzen Classroom

All students, staff, faculty invited to drop off non-perishable food item at following locations on Thursday or Friday to support classified staff in contract negotiations. Drop boxes (as of Wednesday): Arnold, Sea Grant break room (3rd floor University Plaza), Registrar or Admissions break room (Kerr), Jefferson Street break room/kitche, Dixon (second-floor admin office). Drop boxes (as of Thursday): Lab Animal Resource Center, 2042 Cordley, Valley Library Circulation, Maintenance/Facilities office in Hatfield Marine Science, Clackamas County Extension, School of MIME, 204 Rogers Hall. To participate in food drive collection, or for more information, contact Siobhan at 630-699-0281 Cutoff for donations is Friday, Sept. 27, 4 p.m..

The Department of Chemistry at the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia, PA plans to make a tenure track appointment at the Assistant Professor level. I would be grateful if you would bring this position to the attention of qualified applicants.

The appointment will be in the broadly defined area of Organic Chemistry. Candidates with expertise in synthetic chemistry at the interface of materials science or biology are especially encouraged to apply. The candidate is expected to establish an externally funded research program and participate in the Department’s undergraduate and graduate teaching mission.

Applicants must apply online at Required application materials include: a curriculum vitae including a list of publications, and a description of proposed research. Applicants should also submit the names and contact information of three individuals who will provide letters of recommendation. Recommenders will be contacted by the University with instructions on how to submit a letter. Review of applications will begin on October 15, 2019 and will continue until the position is filled.

The Department of Chemistry is strongly committed to Penn’s Action Plan for Faculty Diversity and Excellence and to creating a more diverse faculty (for more information see: The University of Pennsylvania is an equal opportunity employer. Minorities, women, individuals with disabilities, and protected veterans are encouraged to apply.

The University Health & Safety Committee desires to recognize OSU members who are taking extra steps to promote health and safety, and to reduce accidents, incidents and injuries to employees, students or visitors. The new Safety Recognition Program provides a medium to recognize faculty, staff and student employees for their positive behaviors and actions. Examples might include actions, programs, safety achievements or an approach that places safety at its forefront. Nominations will be open for submissions via online at
and reviewed once per term (excluding summer.)

Attention STEM students and faculty, OMSI will give a presentation and answer questions about the OSU-OMSI spring science communication program. Student participation fulfills broader impact and outreach goals for OSU grant-funded research. Bring your lunch and join us on Oct. 10 from noon to 1 p.m. in LPSC 402 to learn more and see demo presentations from current fellows. See for more information.

Co-hosted by the OSU Advantage Accelerator and VertueLab Sept 30 at 5:30 p.m. in MU 104. There will be two panels: one of women entrepreneurs and researchers that will provide insights into fundraising, grant management, scaling and managing a startup, and another of funding experts that will talk about SBIR federal funding, state matching dollars, and other funds. Refreshments will be provided. RSVP at

Congratulations to our Spring 2019 Honor Roll students. Keep up the great work all!

Aldous, Tanner
Alghumiz, Nasser
Ash, Kaitlyn
Austin, Molly
Bailey, Conner
Berger, Rachel
Bravo, Kali
Brown, Jessica
Bynum, Andrew
Enruquez, Gabriela
Fuller, Duncan
Gerl, Kathryn
Gonzales, Seth
Hagglund, Lindsey
Hamann, Zachary
Hillier, Stephanie
Hogan, Nicholas
Holley, Jillian
Jenck, Rachel
Johnson, Jesse
Koga, Kenneth
Lee-Rouille, Taylor
Li, Jessica
Moore, Jacob
Nagasaka, Cocoro
Oldfield, Mathew
Osborn, Alan
Puryear, Madison
Rauenhorst, Jacob
Reeder, Eryn
Reynolds, Tyelor
Skanes, Benjamin
Sosnovske, Alden
Spence, Kieran
Srey, Jason
Tannenholz, Ehman
Tenoyo, Keenan
Unitan, Lindsay
Wallace, Philip
Wolf Beaton, Ian
Wong, Derek