Dear COS Faculty,

Each year the Dean of the College of Science awards the Fred Horne Award for Excellence in Teaching Science on a competitive basis to professors who have achieved sustained excellence in the teaching of science. This award recognizes faculty who have repeatedly demonstrated exceptional instructional qualities and have had a significant impact on students over a period of not less than 5 years.
We encourage nominations for the Fred Horne Award, one of the highest and most prestigious teaching awards that the College of Science offers. The nomination packet must include:
A brief letter of recommendation that articulates the rationale for the nominee and their dedication to and meritorious success and effectiveness in their teaching
A complete current curriculum vitae
2-3 recent letters of support from students and colleagues that provide evidence of the candidate’s exceptional instructional achievements over a sustained period.
Please see more information about the award and past winners at  The deadline for submitting nominations is Friday, January 26th.  Please email them to
I thank you in advance for your nominations, and your help in recognizing the outstanding teaching for the College of Science and for our students.

Matthew T.  Andrews
Executive Associate Dean
College of Science
Professor of Biochemistry and Biophysics
Oregon State University
Corvallis, OR 97331
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a reply

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>