Academic Advisors, Academic Counselors, Associate Deans, School and Department Chairs, Enrollment Management and other interested student success personnel are invited to attend an overview session Wednesday, April 8, 9:30-11 a.m. in the Construction & Engineering Hall in LaSells Stewart Center to learn more about the SSC, a new performance-based analytic tool OSU is implementing.

The President’s Commission on the Status of Women recognizes any classified, professional faculty, or faculty member who excels in mentoring, supporting, and encouraging OSU employees, especially women and those from under-represented groups, and making available to them opportunities for professional, educational and personal development. The award is presented at University Day and consists of $500 cash, a $500 professional development fund, a nameplate in Kerr Admin, and a personal plaque. The deadline is May 1. Information:

Applications for the President’s Commission on the Status of Women scholarships now being accepted.The PCOSW, provides funding to women faculty, students, and staff who are pursuing professional development or research opportunities, as well as individuals conducting research related to women’s issues. Scholarships average $500. The deadline is May 1.  Information:

This is a friendly reminder that Faculty Rental Regalia Orders are due on April 15th, if you haven’t submitted yours already. Getting your order in by this date will help ensure that there are no size or hood color substitutions. Orders should be in store and ready for pick up by the end of May. The email address provided on the order form will be the address that a pick up reminder is delivered too along with any communication if there are questions about the order.

To avoid the hassle of renting each year, Jostens also offers Fine Quality regalia. Order forms for Doctorate and Masters Fine Quality regalia are available at the Beaver Store Customer Service counter, or you can email a request to and an order form will be emailed to you. A promotional package is being offered for orders submitted by June 30th.

Thank you for your time, have a great Spring term!

Lindsay Bass
OSU Beaver Store
Graduation Coordinator/Customer Service Supervisor

Congratulations to our Winter 2015 Chemistry Honor Roll Students!!

Albrecht, Amy
Allen, Marshall
Angle, Austin
Aponso, Savinda
Best, Scott
Brucks, Corinne
Cayton, Jared
Chen, Kathryn
Chitwood, Abigail
Cobb, Tora
Coporan, Sergiu
Covey, Lauren
Davis, Lissa
Del Savio, Jacob
Delgado, Mark
Domen, Andrea
Downey, Gillian
Duong, Amanda
Durfee, Brandice
Erickson, Blake
Focht, Darlene
Fong, Eaton
Hergert, John
Hinds Cook, Althea
Jolley, Maria
Kim, Joeun
Kinser, Reid
Klaus, Laura
Lew, Cassandra
Liu-May, Rachel
Malone, Alexandra
Marzi, Chiara
Nguyen, Dang
Oldfield, Mathew
Palmiter, James
Pham, Thu
Potter, Kristin
Prater, Philip
Putnam, Rex
Raleigh, Nathan
Ruark, Collin
Samhan, Ashraf
Sandwisch, Jason
Schacher, Aimee
Shear, Trevor
Stout, Kenneth
Toporkova, Yekaterina
Turner, Jake
Walker, Mesa
Yu, Yan
Zhang, Tianqi
Zuk, Alexander

It is time, once again, for OSU to name the “Undergraduate Researcher of the Year.” This award, which seeks to recognize significant efforts of students engaged in scholarly work in their disciplines, will be presented to one student participant in the Celebrating Undergraduate Excellence (CUE) event to be held on the MU Quad on May 14. Students in each undergraduate college will be recognized, as well as an awardee for the entire campus. Nominations for the award are due no later than April 13 and must come from faculty mentors. The process is described on the Undergraduate Research Web Page – Please direct questions to Kevin Ahern at

The OSU chapter of Phi Kappa Phi is accepting nominations through April 10, for the Emerging Scholar Award. The chapter established the award to honor tenure-track faculty members in any academic unit who are in the early stages of their professional careers in recognition of outstanding research or creative activity in their field of study. The award consists of a plaque and first year membership dues to both the local OSU Chapter and the National Society of Phi Kappa Phi. See for application information.

Nominations are being accepted for the Karel J.H. Murphy Professional Faculty Leadership and Service Award. This award recognizes a professional faculty member who has provided outstanding leadership and service throughout their career both within their Department and in programs and organizations across Oregon State University. Award criteria is available at Nominations will be accepted through April 9. Please direct questions to Michelle Mahana at

The Association of Office Professionals seeks nominations for the 2015 Boss of the Year Award, recognizing creative approaches and consistently superior performance as a supervisor. Nominees must be OSU employees working in a supervisory capacity but do not need to be AOP members. Submit nomination packets electronically or in person by April 24, 2015, to: Laurie Wyant, Awards and Nominations Committee Chair, 213 Gilkey Hall, Additional information:

Nominations are being sought for the 2015 Association of Office Professionals Member of the Year Award. Nominees must be active AOP members. Nominations must be submitted by April 24, 2015, either electronically or in person to: Laurie Wyant, Awards and Nominations Committee Chair, 213 Gilkey Hall, Additional information: