Welcome to the OLC Digital Learning Innovation Award (DLI Award) information section. Here you’ll find information about this award competition and how to submit your application. We look forward to reviewing your submissions, celebrating your successes, and identifying top innovators leading the digital learning landscape. #DLIAward


Dear Colleagues,

We are looking for outstanding candidates for the Undergraduate Radiochemistry Summer School sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy’s Office of Nuclear Energy and hosted this year by the Oregon State University School of Nuclear Science and Engineering (NSE) and the Department of Chemistry in Corvallis, Oregon. Running from June 20 through July 29, 2016, the school is for undergraduate students in chemistry, physics, engineering, health physics and related discipline.

The Undergraduate Radiochemistry Summer School will focus on the fundamentals of radiochemistry with an emphasis on the back end of the nuclear fuel cycle. Blending classwork and labwork, students will learn physics of nuclear structure, radioactive decay and nuclear reactions, principles of radiodetection, chemistry of actinides and fission products, production and separation of radionuclides, radiolytic effects. The nuclear fuel cycle will be presented from fundamental chemistry to engineering applications. The core faculty of the summer school are A. Paulenova, W.D. Loveland, M. Nyman and A. Farsoni. Students will also benefit from the expertise of 10 guest lecturers from national labs and academic partners who will present throughout the summer school.

Four of the six weeks are devoted to independent laboratory research projects under the guidance of our faculty. Students will present their results at a student conference at the end of the summer school. In addition, students will tour the Oregon State TRIGA Reactor, and NuScale facilities in Corvallis. They will also visit Richland, Washington for tours of the AREVA, Energy Northwest, and Hanford Site facilities.

12 students (must be U.S. citizen) will be selected and will be provided with a $4,000 stipend as well as coverage of housing and travel costs. Students are expected to participate in all coursework, research and tours. Upon satisfactory completion of the summer school, participating students will receive eight transferable radiochemistry credits at the 400 level. Oregon State University is located in Corvallis, Oregon. Students will stay in Oregon State University residence halls and have full access to university recreation facilities, computer facilities, and library. Applications are due April 20, 2016 with acceptance notification by April 29, 2016. Rising seniors are preferred, but all applications will be reviewed and considered.

The online Application Form and more information is available at http://ne.oregonstate.edu/radiochemistryschool

Questions should be directed to:
Alena Paulenova, summer school director, NSE
Janet Knudson, office manager, NSE

Nominations are being accepted for the Karel J.H. Murphy Professional Faculty Leadership and Service Award. The award recognizes a professional faculty member who has provided outstanding leadership and service throughout their career both within their Department and in programs and organizations across OSU. The award also honors a legacy of providing ongoing, strategic, and progressive leadership, administrative support and service among Professional Faculty and other OSU employees. The award winner will be presented a plaque and a $1000 check at University day. Nominations due April 7. For more information: Michelle Mahana   mahanam@oregonstate.edu

The OSU Association of Office Professionals was formed to foster awareness, excellence, and professionalism in the ranks of office personnel. This award recognizes contributions toward these goals by individual members through creative approaches and consistently high performance as a professional in ways that benefit Oregon State. Nominees must be active AOP members and have participated in AOP-related activities within the last two years. To nominate an AOP member, submit your completed packet by April 22 to Laurie Wyant, Laurie.Wyant@oregonstate.edu. The complete packet shall include a nomination form and two letters of support. One of the two letters should be from a co-worker or supervisor.

The Research Office Incentive Programs is accepting applications for FRT Fall, Winter, or Spring 2016-17 release. The program provides limited funding for individuals developing external grant proposals or who wish to further their scholarly activities. Program description and application: http://research.oregonstate.edu/incentive/faculty-release-time. Information: Debbie Delmore at debbie.delmore@oregonstate.edu. Deadline: April 25.

The ESTEME@OSU Project and the Center for Research on Lifelong STEM Learning welcome applications for action research fellows. Teams or individual instructors using evidence based instructional practices in undergraduate STEM classrooms are encouraged to apply.  Selected candidates will be supported in their research design and provided $3,000 financial support. Applications are due March 29th, 2016 by close of business to Victoria.Bonebrake@oregonstate.edu. Please see http://bit.ly/arf-rfa-2016 for application instructions and more information.

Notice:  Linus Pauling Science Center – Fume Hood Shutdown
Effective Date(s): April 18 – 20, 2016

Due to necessary repairs, the fume hoods in Linus Pauling Science Center will be offline April 18 – 20, 2016.  Maintenance staff is coordinating this with Environmental Health and Safety.  This will affect all lab fume hoods building wide.

For questions or comments on this notice, contact Richard Olsen at 541-737-7025.

Closures are often subject to changes and delays, so please visit the OSU Campus Closures, Shutdowns and Detours page for updates on this and other campus closures.

Please forward this notice to anyone who would benefit from this information.