Major & specialization area:
Natural Resources with point of convergence in Forestry (Individualized Specialty Option)

Why did you choose your degree program/major?
I have always had a fondness for the outdoors in its entirety. I am fascinated by forest products, ecosystems and wildlife.

What’s the best experience you’ve had as a student?
The interaction with students and professors I would say is the best experience I have had. I was last in college 20 years ago, a lot has changed. Then, there were no discussion groups, little in the way of group activities and the development of working with peers was not a huge factor. In the workforce, the ability to work with others was underrated in many cases. Going and doing your job and being the sole reason for success and failure was up to you and determined by your actions. Out in your career the ability to work with others increases your ability to produce efficiently.

Tell me a little about your baseball career. How has this impacted your student experience?
My baseball career has taught me about work ethic. Baseball is a tough game based as much on failure as success. It is a team sport with huge amounts of individual competition. It has taught me to focus on mastering an art, whether it be pitching or fielding, while still being dependent on your team to do their job as well through hard work and preparation. This thought process has helped in schooling. I was brought up as a person who was raised with the “work hard, figure it out” mentality, and baseball has helped me understand how to work through my schooling with a broader scope.

What are your plans after graduation?
This is a tough question. I am currently an undergraduate assistant baseball coach at OSU as well so I obviously have the dreams of one day coaching college baseball as a career. I also have a 14-year background in small community banking and left that job, achieving the title of Chief Lending Officer. During that time I managed the entire bank’s lending portfolio, dealt with examiners and developed products. In my off time I was a part of two other businesses. With a few other partners we started a small timber company which purchased and harvested wood products. This side hustle led us to purchase a road maintenance and construction company which primarily worked on logging roads. I have also had a taxidermy business that I have done since I was originally in college and continue to do so to afford the ability to come back and get my degree. All of these things interested me then and still do today. To answer the question, we will just have to wait and see what I come up with.

What’s one thing (or piece of advice) that you would like incoming OSU students to know?
Ask questions to find the truth or answer in its entirety. Listen to what is said and use the knowledge you have or research to gain a stronger understanding of what is being said. There is usually more to every story and it’s your job to engage and educate yourself.

What are your go-to snacks?
Jerky; I am an avid outdoorsman and have never been known to be in one place for too long. Years ago I learned how to make a few variations of jerky types and seasonings. It’s the perfect snack for someone who is always on the go.

What else would you like to share?
Go see a sporting event at OSU, any of them. The hard work and dedication these athletes are doing is something to see.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a reply

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>