Oregon State University
Skip navigation

Breakthroughs in Science

2012 College of Science Awards Day

September 20th, 2012

The College of Science Faculty and Staff Awards Day was held on September 19th to celebrate accomplishments of the college over the past year.

Supervisors, colleagues and students nominated awardees based on their contributions to the college and to their field of academia and research.  Interim Dean Vince Remcho, Associate Dean Janine Trempy and Head Advisor Claire Colvin presented the awards at the event that was held in Reser Auditorium in the Linus Pauling Science Center.

The award recipients are as follows:

Devon Quick of the Department of Zoology was awarded the Loyd Carter Award for Outstanding & Inspirational Undergraduate Teaching. Nominated by students, The Loyd Carter Awards recognize faculty in the College who have distinguished themselves in teaching and is the longest standing award given by the College, first bestowed in 1946 to Fred Morgan in Physics.

Kevin Gable in the Department of Chemistry was awarded the Loyd Carter Awards for Outstanding & Inspirational Graduate Teaching.

Mary Flahive of the Department of Mathematics is this year’s recipient of the Olaf Boedtker Award for Excellence in Academic Advising.  This award recognizes an individual in the College who demonstrates outstanding service to the students in advising.

Linda Bruslind of the Department of Microbiology received the Frederick H. Horne Award for Sustained Excellence in Teaching Science.  Former College of Science Dean, Fred Horne created this award to acknowledge selfless dedication to educating the students of the College.

Yun-Shik Lee of the Department of Physics is this year’s recipient of the Milton Harris Award in Basic Research. The Award recognizes exceptional achievement in basic research by a member of the faculty or staff of the College of Science.  Priority is given to research in a distinct area that has had significant impact on its field.

P. Andrew Karplus of the Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics was awarded the F.A. Gilfillan Memorial Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Science.  The award is in honor of Francois A. Gilfillan, Dean of the College of Science from 1938-1962 and recognizes faculty based upon a body of scholarly work that has made a lasting impact on its field and on OSU.  It is the highest honor that the College of Science awards to a member of its faculty. With this distinguished award, Dr. Karplus will be the presenter at the F.A. Gilfillan Memorial Award Lecture in the spring of 2012.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *