Oregon State University
Skip navigation

Breakthroughs in Science

Quantum Leaps in Physics

January 17th, 2008

WenigerJordan_400 The Physics Department is celebrating it’s 100th anniversary this year. At right, a photo, taken sometime in 1928, of Professor Jordan (left), who built the first radio transmitter, KFDJ, 5 watts. Dr. Weniger (right) founded the department in 1908.

Also, chair and professor emeritus, Ken Krane, has been selected by the Honors College as 2008’s Eminent Professor.

In addition, the College of Science is pleased to announce the inception of the Ben and Elaine Whiteley Endowed Fund in Materials Research, recently established by long-time friends, donors, and volunteers, Ben and Elaine Whiteley. Elaine’s father was Dr. Edwin Yunker. Professor Yunker was a member of the OSU physics faculty from 1925 to 1968 and was department chair from 1949 to 1966. The Yunker lecture was established in his honor. Ben and Elaine live in Portland, and are delighted to have made this contribution in support of the materials science program, which has also been counted toward the challenge made by the Valley Foundation for the College of Science to raise $15 million in program support.


Dr. Janet Tate is one of the lead faculty members in the Materials Science group.

Finally, the Paradigms in Physics classroom remodel for first- and second-year students is on the way to becoming a reality.

That’s all for this nanosecond!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Comments are closed.