Halal Food

Halal is an Arabic word meaning lawful or permitted. In reference to food, it is the dietary standard, as prescribed in the Qur’an (the Muslim scripture). The opposite of halal is haram, which means unlawful or prohibited. Halal and haram are universal terms that apply to all facets of life. These terms are commonly used in relation to food products, meat products, cosmetics, personal care products, pharmaceuticals, food ingredients, and food contact materials. While many things are clearly halal or haram, there are some things which are not clear. Further information is needed to categorise them as halal or haram. Such items are often referred to as mashbooh, which means doubtful or questionable.

Muslims are supposed to make an effort to obtain the best quality nutritionally. It is mentioned in a Hadith that the prayer of a person is rejected by Allah if the food consumed is prohibited (haram). All foods are considered halal except the following (which are haram):
Alcoholic drinks and intoxicants
Non-Halal Animal Fat
Enzymes* (Microbial Enzymes are permissible)
Gelatine* – from non-Halal source (fish gelatine is Halal)
L-cysteine (if from human hair)
Lipase* (only animal lipase need be avoided)
Non-Halal Animal Shortening
Pork, Bacon / Ham and anything from pigs
Unspecified Meat Broth
Rennet* (All forms should be avoided except for plant / microbial /
synthetic – rennet obtained from halal slaughtered animal is
Stock* (a blend of mix species broth or meat stock)
Tallow* (non-Halal species)
Carnivorous animals, birds of prey and certain other animals
Foods contaminated with any of the above products
(*May be consumed if derived from Halal animals.

Islam places great emphasis in the way in which an animal’s life ends, which has to be in accordance with Islamic regulations. Life is a sacred blessing of God to creation, animals as well as humans. If the life of an animal has to be ended for human survival, then its life should only be taken in the name of God. Hence, the phrase bismillah (‘in the name of God’) must be uttered just before slaughtering an animal. Muslims cannot consume the meat of animals that are sacrificed in a name other than God.HSRC does get halal meat from the Foodbank sometimes and that food is kept in a different refrigerator

Print Friendly, PDF & Email