Mary Jo Nye is the recipient of the 2017 Abraham Pais Prize for History of Physics.

Mary Jo Nye (Oregon State University) has won the 2017 Abraham Pais Prize for the History of Physics. The Pais Prize is given annually by the American Physical Society (APS), with the American Institute of Physics, to recognize outstanding scholarly achievements in the history of physics. In the citation by Richard Staley, we are reminded that, for decades, Dr. Nye has “produced pathbreaking and enduring studies of the physical sciences that are distinguished equally by their attention to the coherence and integrity of the approaches taken by individual scientists…”

She is the past president of the HSS (1988- 1989), a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and a Member of the International Academy of the History of Science. She delivered the HSS Distinguished Lecture in 2000 and won the Society’s Sarton Medal in 2006. She received the Pais Prize at the March 2017 meeting of the APS.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in Departmental News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *