alumni news events

2015 Outstanding Young Alumni

On the evening of May 2nd, the Oregon State University College of Pharmacy alumni and friends gathered at Portland City Grill to honor the recipients of the 2015 Icons of Pharmacy Award as well as the Outstanding Young Alumni Award. Amy Valdez, an OSU College of Pharmacy 1999 alumnus, is the third to be recognized with this honor for her commitment and dedication to the profession of pharmacy.

ValdezAmy Valdez ’99

“Always say ‘Yes!’” are the words Amy Valdez has made her personal motto. These words have gotten Amy where she dreamed of being when she decided to become a pharmacist at age 16. Upon graduating from OSU College of Pharmacy, Amy went to work for Safeway where she is now the Clinical Division Lead for the Portland and Seattle Divisions of the recently merged Albertsons-Safeway. As Clinical Division Lead, Amy has doubled the number of clinical programs in her area, increased the collaboration between pharmacists and physicians, facilitated an increase in pharmacist administered medications and labs, and established diabetes, medication therapy management, and smoking cessation services.

Advocating for community pharmacy on the local, state, and national level, Amy actively participates in immunization coalitions and is responsible for the implementation of the meningitis immunization program for college students in Oregon. She is a champion for changing state laws, with successes in both Oregon and Alaska.

Amy’s true passion is to teach, coach, and mentor students and other pharmacists. She proudly serves as the first female National President of the Phi Delta Chi Pharmacy Fraternity since 1883, representing 97 Chapters of Colleges of Pharmacy across the nation. She also serves as a board member for the fraternity foundation Pharmacy Leadership & Education Institute.

Actively engaging with her Alma Mater, she is a preceptor to 4th year pharmacy students on clinical rotations, and coordinates a 10-week Summer Intern program for OSU pharmacy students. She is also a member of many state and national pharmacy organizations including American Pharmacists Association, Oregon State Pharmacy Association, and the Oregon Pharmacy Coalition.