Oregon State University
Skip navigation

Your OSU Blog

Bringing Higher Education Closer to You

OSU Faculty Nominated for Oregon Book Awards

February 21st, 2011

CORVALLIS, Ore. – Three Oregon State University faculty members have been named by Literary Arts as finalists for the 2011 Oregon Book Awards. Winners will be announced at the award celebration at 7:30 p.m. Monday, April 25, at the Gerding Theater in Portland.

From Your District:

Kathleen Dean Moore, Distinguished Professor of Philosophy at OSU, has been named a finalist for the Sarah Winnemucca Award for Creative Nonfiction for “Wild Comfort” (Trumpeter Books), a meditation on grief, gladness, and the healing power of the natural world.

  Jennifer Richter, a Corvallis resident who will be Visiting Poet spring term at OSU, was nominated in the same category for her book of poetry, “Threshold” (Southern Illinois University Press). Her book is a series of poems that explore the many facets of the term “threshold.” Richter was also awarded the C.Hamilton Bailey Fellowship, a grant of $2,500.

 The Oregon Book Awards is a program of Literary Arts, a statewide, nonprofit organization dedicated to promoting the importance of language.

 About the OSU College of Liberal Arts: The College of Liberal Arts includes the fine and performing arts, humanities and social sciences, making it one of the largest and most diverse colleges at OSU.  The college’s research and instructional faculty members contribute to the education of all university students and provide national and international leadership, creativity and scholarship in their academic disciplines.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Comments are closed.

  • Categories

  • Popular Tags