Welcome to our world

On these pages, we hope to convey our experience with a modified version of the ketogenic diet that we are using to treat benign myoclonic epilepsy for our 3 year old daughter, Nora.

As we build this site, I expect to make 3 main pages for background and FAQs:

  • About the MKD (Modified Ketogenic Diet) as we are using it.
  • How we got here: Nora’s epilepsy story.
  • What does Nora eat? A general description of Nora’s daily diet.

In the days, weeks and months ahead, we will be adding blog posts about Nora’s experience and progress. I expect to start by cataloging a few updates that went out as emails to family and friends (I will note the date originally sent), to preserve the story and record of our journey. Everything after that will be current updates as of the time of the post.

One big lesson that we have learned is that epilepsy is an entirely individualized experience. Every person’s needs are unique as her fingerprints or DNA. This might be a road map for others, but it will not be a perfect model for anyone else. Somehow we will all do this together and completely on our own. We hope that we can offer any guidance or assistance to others that start down this road as well.

Thanks for joining us on this journey. We couldn’t do it without the support of all of our friends and family. Please leave comments and questions; we love to hear from you.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Christy Anderson Brekken. Bookmark the permalink.

About Christy Anderson Brekken

In no particular order... Instructor and Researcher, Department of Applied Economics, Oregon State University. Educational background: University of MN Law School, 2005. MS in Ag and Resource Economics, Oregon State University, 2011. Teaches: Agricultural Law, Environmental Law. Mother: brilliant 9 year old boy; brilliant 6 year old girl with benign myoclonic epilepsy on a modified ketogenic diet therapy. Married to: Ted Brekken, OSU Department of Electrical Engineering. Ride: Xtra-cycle Edgerunner with kid seat; 400-pound cargo capacity. Grew up: Devils Lake, ND. Lived in: Minneapolis/St. Paul, MN, Pohang, South Korea, Trondheim, Norway, Corvallis, OR. Interests: Cooking, knitting, eating, yoga, laughing, hiking, traveling, staying sane.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *