Purpose: To recognize and reward outstanding Oregon State University Extension Service educators.

Background: Alberta Johnston served the Extension Service for 40 years as county Extension agent, specialist, and administrator in Wyoming, Montana, and Oregon. On her retirement as Deputy Director of the Oregon State University Extension Service, she endowed this award to outstanding performance of Extension educators and administrators.

Award: The recipient will receive a $1,000 check and a plaque. Announcement of the award is made at the Extension Annual Conference Faculty & Staff Awards program.

Eligibility: Nominees must be currently employed as an Extension faculty, specialist, or educational program assistant.

Criteria: Nominees will be evaluated on their demonstrated excellence in planning, conducting, evaluating, and sharing with colleagues Extension educational programs that have made a significant difference in the lives of Oregonians. Consideration will be given to:

  1. The degree to which clients were involved in identifying program needs;
  2. The development and/or use of innovative educational methods and delivery technology;
  3. Involvement of colleagues in planning and developing the program;
  4. Evidence that the educational program achieved agreed upon objectives; and
  5. How well the results of the educational program were shared with colleagues in Oregon and around the country.

Instructions for Preparing Nomination Packets for Awards

2022 Submission Deadline: October 17, 2022

Each nomination packet must include the following information and be organized in the order of the points below. Please include a cover sheet listing the nominee’s name and the specific award. Each nomination must address the purpose of the award and related criteria as outlined on the description sheet for the specific award. Promotion and tenure dossiers and nomination packets prepared for other awards will not be accepted. If an individual or team is nominated for more than one award, a packet must be submitted for each award.

Although surprise is good, it is not required and the nominee can be involved in preparing the packet. The nominator should discuss the nomination with the staff person’s supervisor(s).

  1. Required—Letter of nomination. Limited to one, single-space page. The letter should briefly indicate why the person is nominated. It must include the number of years worked in Extension, describe the nominee’s career progress, and itemize the positions held.
  2. Required— A minimum of one, but no more than three, solicited letters of recommendation. If the nominator is not the individual’s supervisor, a letter of support should be included from the supervisor. These letters must be addressed to the nominator from peers, co-workers, clientele, and supervisors. The nominator is responsible for soliciting and receiving letters and assembling the final packet.
  3. Required—A summary of accomplishments, not to exceed one page (1-2 sided accepted), reflecting the criteria outlined for the specific award. The selection committee will evaluate each nomination packet against the criteria listed in the award’s description sheet. The nominee’s Plan of Work and Reports of Accomplishment are good sources of program information (these are available from the nominee’s supervisor).
  4. Submit nominations by email to:

Rebecca Symons, Administrative Assistant to the Associate Director of Extension
OSU Extension Administration

Note: Nomination packets that do not follow these criteria will be disqualified and nominator will be notified.

Past Recipients

2021 – Beatriz Botello-Salgado and Jeanne Brandt

2020 – Dustin Johnson

2019 – Barbara Brody and Tim Stock

2018 – Brooke Edmunds and Maria Falcon

2017 – Robin Galloway

2016 –  Clive Kaiser

2015 – Silvia Rondon

2011-2014 No Award

2010 – Bruce Sorte

2009 – Beth Emshoff

2008—Virginia Bourdeau

2007—John Hart

2006—Aaron Johnson

2005—Mary Arnold

2004—No Award Given

2003—Mark E. Mellbye, District Extension Agent

2002—Bemadine C. Strik, Berry Crop Specialist

2001—Nellie Oehler, Lane County

2000–No award given

1999—Brad Jeffreys, 4-H Youth and Jim Herrnes, Animal Science

1998—Vicki Osis, Sea Grant; Caroline Cannon and Pat Aune, Multnomah County

1997—Ginny Goblirsch, Lincoln Co. and Flaxen Conway, Sea Grant

1996—Philip VanBuskirk, Jackson County

1995—Carolyn Raab, Food & Nutrition

1994—Tim Deboodt, Crook County

1993—Larry Lev, Ag Economics

1992—Ray McNeilan, Multnomah County

1991—Lynn Cannon, Coos County

Updated: September 2022

Print Friendly, PDF & Email