Program Alignment to National and State Standards

Program Alignment to National and State Standards

All teacher licensure programs in Oregon align with the CAEP National Standards, Oregon
Teacher Standards and Practices Commission (TSPC) standards and regulations, Oregon state
professional code of ethics (MCEE), and National (InTASC) Model Core Teaching Standards
and Learning Progressions for Teachers.
Oregon Teacher Standards and Practices Commission (TSPC)
Oregon State Teacher Code of Ethics (MCEE)
InTASC Standards


InTASC Dimension 1. The Learner and Learning:

InTASC Standard #1. Learner Development: The teacher understands how children learns grow
and develop, recognizing that patterns of learning and development vary individually within and
across the cognitive, linguistic, social, emotional, and physical areas, and designs and
implements developmentally appropriate and challenging learning experiences.
InTASC Standard #2. Learning Differences: The teacher uses understanding of individual
differences and diverse cultures and communities to ensure inclusive learning environments that
enable each learner to meet high standards.
InTASC Standard #3. Learning Environments: The teacher works with others to create
environments that support individual and collaborative learning, and that encourage positive
social interaction, active engagement in learning, and self motivation.


InTASC Dimension 2. Content:

InTASC Standard #4. Content Knowledge: The teacher understands the central concepts, tools of
inquiry, and structures of the discipline(s) he or she teaches and creates learning experiences that
make these aspects of the discipline accessible and meaningful for learners to assure mastery of
the content.
InTASC Standard #5. Application of Content: The teacher understands how to connect concepts
and use differing perspectives to engage learners in critical thinking, creativity, and collaborative
problem solving related to authentic local and global issues.


InTASC Dimension 3. Instructional Practice:

InTASC Standard #6. Assessment: The teacher understands and uses multiple methods of
assessment to engage learners in their own growth, to monitor learner progress, and to guide the
teacher’s and learner’s decision making.
InTASC Standard #7. Planning for Instruction: The teacher plans instruction that supports every
student in meeting rigorous learning goals by drawing upon knowledge of content areas,
curriculum, crossdisciplinary
skills and pedagogy, as well as learners and the community
InTASC Standard #8. Instructional Strategies: The teacher understands and uses a variety of
instructional strategies to encourage learners to develop deep understanding of content areas and
their connections, and to build skills to apply knowledge in meaningful ways.


InTASC Dimension 4. Professional Responsibility:

InTASC Standard #9. Professional Learning and Ethical Practice: The teacher engages in
ongoing professional learning and uses evidence to continually evaluate his or her practice,
particularly the effects of his/her choices and actions on others (learners, families, other
professionals, and the community), and adapts practice to meet the needs of each learner.
InTASC Standard #10. Leadership and Collaboration: The teacher demonstrates leadership by
taking responsibility for student learning and by collaborating with learners, families, colleagues,
other school professionals, and community members to ensure learner growth and development,
learning, and wellbeing.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email