SHPR Faculty and Administration Honored (x3!)

Congratulations go out to faculty and staff across the
School of History, Philosophy, and Religion at Oregon State University.

CLA Dean Larry Rogers and SHPR Academic Coordinator David Bishop

CLA Dean Larry Rogers and SHPR Academic Coordinator David Bishop.


SHPR Academic Coordinator David Bishop
was honored during CLA day with the
Carolyn Maresh Professional Staff Award,
which recognizes outstanding job performance
and dedication to the College.


Professor Jose-Antonio Orosco

Professor Jose-Antonio Orosco

Professor Joseph Orosco was awarded the 2012 Best published Op-Ed from the American Philosophical Association Committee on Public Philosophy. He was one of five philosophers so honored.  The original op-ed which ran in the Corvallis Gazette Times on March 31, 2011 was entitled “As I See It: Tuition bill the decent option.”

Click here to read the original op-ed.

Mary Jo Nye

Horning Professor of the Humanities and Professor of History Emeritus, Mary Jo Nye

Congratulations also go out to Professor Mary Jo Nye!!!

She has been awarded the 2012 John and Martha Morris Award for Outstanding Achievement in the History of Modern Chemistry and the Chemical Industry.

The presentation of the award will take place at the 9th International Conference of the History of Chemistry in Uppsala in August 2013. (

We are so very proud of all of them and these awards are a testament to both their skill and dedication as well as the strength and vitality of our program as a whole.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in Departmental News, Faculty News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *