Your WordPress site can be subscribed to. In fact, there exists a Subscriber role in the WordPress User settings specifically for this purpose.
If someone has a particular interest in what a publication of yours, this user can elect to be updated regarding changes.
The Subscriptions Settings is where you can track who is subscribed to your site and what they’re subscribing to. Additionally, if you wish to block a user from subscribing to your content, you can do so here, by clicking on the username and clicking the Block Notifications button.