Administered by the Genetics Society of America, the DeLill Nasser Awards are given twice a year to promising post-docs and graduate students to attend national or international meetings. Aided by the $1,000 cash award, Kyle attended the 11th European Conference on Fungal Genetics (“ECFG11”) in Marburg, Germany, in April 2012. He gave two talks, one (entitled “A dynamin-like protein affects both RIP and recombination”) in the session on “Genome Structure”, and one (entitled “Tracking homologous recombination by whole genome analysis”) at the Neurospora Satellite Meeting. This conference allowed him to meet some of his many European collaborators (from Germany, France and Austria) for the first time. It was also the first time that Kyle has traveled to Europe. Here he is shown after a spin on one of the original German mountain bikes, perhaps designed by Baron Drais himself.



Annika Picture

Annika Swanson is one of two OSU students to be recognized with a 2012 Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship. This is a merit-based national scholarship from the U.S. government for undergraduate students in pursuit of careers in mathematics, the natural sciences, or engineering. Annika is the 8th OSU Biochemistry and Biophysics student to receive this prestigious award. Read more.

The Research Office has announced the awards for the Undergraduate Research, Innovation, Scholarship and Creativity (URISC) Summer 2012 solicitation. Of 51 submitted proposals, 13 were funded, and of these, 5 were awarded to BB students. For BB awardees, the $1800 URISC award will be matched by a $2200 Francis Cripps Undergraduate Research Experience (CURE) award. The combined support will allow the students to pursue their research interests full time in an OSU laboratory throughout the summer. Read More about the five proposals selected for funding that were submitted by BB undergraduates.

BBClub_WhiteWaterWork hard/play hard. To get to know their teachers better and vice versa, eight BB undergraduates (Kyle Ireton, Annika Swanson, Boya Fang, Michael Power, Alec Peters, Andres Alvarez, Jonathan Gallion, Gavin McHale, Tiffany Soto, and Tiffany Kornberg) joined three BB faculty members (Gary Merrill, Joe Beckman, and Ryan Mehl) for a whitewater trip down the Clackamas River with “Blue Sky Rafting”.