The Erlenmeyer Flask






         Where Real Chemistry Happens…

August 1, 2016

YlnMn Blue Goes Viral

#MasBlue #YlnMnBlueWe in the department prefer to call it Mas Blue after our beloved Mas Subramanian, a fact that causes him some embarrassment.  But we’re so proud of him and this serendipitous discovery.  Due to the viral nature of the news lately, we’re compiling a list of all the news outlets where we’ve spotted mentions of this beautiful hue.

  1. Good – https://www.good.is/articles/new-color-yinmn-discovered?utm_source=thedailygood&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=dailygood
  2. Tech Insider – https://www.facebook.com/techinsider/videos/vb.352751268256569/528882020643492/?type=2&theater
  3. Daily Mail – http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-3665985/A-deeper-shade-blue-Scientists-accidentally-discovered-new-pigment-solving-ancient-Egyptian-quest.html
  4. Huffington Post – http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/newest-shade-of-blue_us_577321d9e4b0d1f85d47c1da
  5. IFL Science – http://www.iflscience.com/chemistry/this-new-shade-of-blue-was-accidentally-discovered-by-chemists/
  6. Seventeen – http://www.seventeen.com/life/news/a41470/mas-ubramanian-yinmn-blue-pigment/
  7. Cosmopolitan – http://www.cosmopolitan.com/lifestyle/news/a60647/mas-ubramanian-yinmn-blue-pigment/
  8. Elite Daily – http://elitedaily.com/news/scientists-discovered-new-color-absolutely-gorgeous/1535713/?platform=hootsuite
  9. Teen Vogue – http://www.teenvogue.com/story/scientists-accidentally-make-new-shade-blue?platform=hootsuite
  10. ZMEScience – http://www.zmescience.com/other/art-other/yinmn-blue-pigment/?
  11. Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/p/BHR_hqoDrH7/
  12. Artnet News – https://news.artnet.com/art-world/yinmn-blue-to-be-sold-commercially-520433
  13. Mental_floss – http://mentalfloss.com/uk/art/44161/scientists-accidentally-discover-new-shade-of-blue
  14. Elle Decor – http://www.elledecor.com/design-decorate/color/news/a8842/shades-of-blue-color/?src=TrueAnth_ELLEDECOR_TW&utm_campaign=trueanthem&utm_content=5774383904d301270f64432f&utm_medium=trueanthem&utm_source=twitter
  15. Today Style – http://www.today.com/style/new-color-has-been-discovered-it-s-beautiful-t100335
  16. InQuisitr – http://www.inquisitr.com/3256926/yinmn-blue-science-discovers-new-near-perfect-color-by-accident/
  17. The Science Explorer – http://thescienceexplorer.com/technology/new-gorgeous-shade-blue-was-accidentally-made-chemists
  18. Yahoo News – https://www.yahoo.com/celebrity/scientist-accidentally-discovers-worlds-newest-152632141.html
  19. Slate – http://www.slate.fr/story/120403/nouveau-bleu
  20. Mirror – http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/weird-news/best-colour-world-beautiful-new-8309029
  21. Art & Design – http://hccart.blogspot.com/2016/06/scientists-accidentally-discover-new.html
  22. Atlas Obscura – http://www.atlasobscura.com/articles/found-a-gorgeous-new-shade-of-blue
  23. Tech Times – http://www.techtimes.com/articles/168257/20160704/new-shade-of-blue-found-through-happy-accident-may-soon-be-available.htm
  24. The Sydney Morning Herald – http://www.smh.com.au/technology/sci-tech/its-yinmn-the-new-nearperfect-blue-that-reflects-heat-and-doesnt-fade-20160630-gpv742.html
  25. Z News – http://zeenews.india.com/entertainment/and-more/newest-shade-of-blue-set-to-make-world-a-better-place_1902096.html
  26. Chicago Now – http://www.chicagonow.com/downsize-maybe/2016/07/we-take-a-shine-to-yinmn-its-the-new-blue/
  27. Fox News Science – http://www.foxnews.com/science/2016/07/20/how-scientists-discovered-brilliant-new-blue-pigment.html
  28. NPR – http://www.npr.org/2016/07/16/485696248/a-chemist-accidentally-creates-a-new-blue-then-what
  29. Philadelphia Magazine – http://www.phillymag.com/property/2016/07/14/new-shade-of-blue/
  30. New York; News & Politics – http://nymag.com/daily/intelligencer/2016/07/scientists-accidentally-discovered-a-new-blue.html
  31. KVAL News; Eugene – http://kval.com/news/local/orange-black-and-blue-implications-of-new-pigment-developed-at-oregon-state
  32. Nerd Alert; YouTube – https://youtu.be/K0FDoKmhTC4
  33. Think The Earth – http://www.thinktheearth.net/jp/thinkdaily/news/science/1266new-blue.html
  34. New Verse News – http://newversenews.blogspot.com/2016/07/the-versatility-of-blue.html
  35. Forbes – http://www.forbes.com/sites/sujatakundu/2016/06/30/the-accidental-discovery-of-a-brand-new-shade-of-blue/#1ee79601438e
  36. India Today – http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/yinmn-the-newest-shade-of-blue-is-energy-efficient-and-chemical-free/1/704565.html
  37. Terra Brasil – https://noticias.terra.com.br/ciencia/yinmn-a-nova-tonalidade-intensa-e-brilhante-de-azul-descoberta-por-acidente,279893b7d1183fd469722c712a7d01cabasb988p.html
  38. Gazet Van Antwerpen – http://www.gva.be/cnt/dmf20160628_02360617/wetenschapper-ontdekt-revolutionaire-nieuwe-kleur?hkey=e8909b03b144aada5249a627e80ad61b&utm_source=gva&utm_medium=nieuwsbrief&utm_campaign=avond_metropool&M_BT=65047025317&adh_i=6a000a7bc58fe27ed967766ddce5ff13
  39. Woman TOC – http://www.womantoc.gr/life/article/yinmn-blue-epistimones-anakalypsan-mia-olokainourgia-apoxrosi-tou-ble
  40. BBC.com – http://www.bbc.com/portuguese/geral-36644897
  41. FOR Elements – http://forelements.pl/yinmn-czyli-calkiem-nowy-rodzaj-niebieskiego/
  42. kenh14.vn – http://kenh14.vn/yinmn-blue.html
  43. BBC.com – http://www.bbc.com/mundo/noticias-36597000
  44. Nerdcore – http://www.nerdcore.de/2016/06/29/newest-blue-is-yinmn-blue/
  45. Did you know? blog – http://didyouknowblog.com/post/146717305045/science-teacher-mas-subramanian-and-his-team-at
  46. Indie 88 – http://indie88.com/this-new-shade-of-blue-scientists-discovered-looks-awfully-familiar/
  47. Gurney Journey – http://gurneyjourney.blogspot.com/2016/03/new-blue-pigment-discovered.html
  48. Digital Trends – http://www.digitaltrends.com/home/blue-pigment/
  49. Architectural Digest – http://www.architecturaldigest.com/story/scientists-accidentally-discover-a-new-shade-of-blue
  50. AOL News – http://www.aol.com/article/2016/06/29/new-vivid-blue-color-accidentally-discovered-by-scientists/21421643/
  51. Jack on the Web – http://jackontheweb.cbslocal.com/2016/06/29/scientist-discovers-a-new-shade-of-blue/
  52. Futurism – http://futurism.com/chemists-accidentally-created-a-new-shade-of-blue-now-what/
  53. 3CR.org – http://www.3cr.org.au/lostinscience/episode-201607210830/saturated-fat-yea-or-nay-new-pigment-yinmn-blue-bio-engineering
  54. Times of India – http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/home/sunday-times/Five-Indian-inventions-that-you-have-probably-never-heard-of/articleshow/53357956.cms
  55. Think Out Loud – http://www.opb.org/radio/programs/thinkoutloud/segment/new-blue-pigment-music-inspired-by-crater-lake/

Keep checking back, we’ll update as we get more links.  In the mean time, you can follow the hashtags.  #MasBlue #YlnMnBlue

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


1 Comment »

  1.   Gerri — August 24, 2016 @ 10:16 pm    Reply

    What a wonderful discovery! I had no idea there were new pigments left to discover. It’s so interesting that manganese ions absorb red and green wavelengths of light, but only reflect blue. It’s amazing that it may help keep buildings cool. The color is beautiful as well.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 'Serendipitous discovery': OSU's new shade of blue

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

*

© 2017 The Erlenmeyer Flask   Powered by WordPress MU    Hosted by blogs.oregonstate.edu