The MRF Awards (Discovery Award, Mentor Award, Richard T. Jones New Investigator Award) are made to Oregonians throughout the state to acknowledge and honor their contributions to health-related research and education and health-care delivery. The people who make these contributions deserve our recognition. The awards also serve to inform the citizens of Oregon about the outstanding researchers and educators in our state. I encourage you to work with colleagues in your institutions/organizations to nominate deserving candidates. The nominations are due May 27, 2016.

M. Susan Smith, PhD
Chair, MRF Research and Education Committee

The Discovery Award acknowledges an Oregon investigator who has made significant, original contributions to health-related research while working in Oregon. This research can be in the basic, clinical or behavioral sciences, or can be research in health care delivery, health informatics or health outcomes. The Discovery Award recipient will receive a cash award of $6,000 and a commemorative award.

The Mentor Award is presented to an Oregonian who has provided outstanding leadership in support or development of health research, education or the advancement of health care. The Mentor Award recipient will receive a cash award of $6,000 and a commemorative award.

The Richard T. Jones New Investigator Award recognizes a new investigator who shows exceptional promise early in a career in biomedical research. This individual must be within seven years or less of completing clinical and/or post-doctoral training and will be judged on the basis of independence, quality of science, national funding and first or senior authored publications in peer-reviewed biomedical research journals. The culmination of the research must have been performed in Oregon. The Richard T. Jones New Investigator Award recipient will receive a cash award of $3,000 and a commemorative award.

Award winners will be selected by the members of the MRF Committee. Guidelines for each award, lists of past award recipients (eligible for renomination) and a list of current MRF committee members (ineligible for nomination) can be found at

Nominations must include:

A nomination letter clearly specifying the award for which the individual is being nominated and addressing how the individual meets the guidelines for that award.
The nominee’s curriculum vitae
No more than five letters of support. Letters of support signed by more than one person are discouraged.
All documents should be submitted at one time, as one packet by the nominator.

Electronic submissions (one pdf) are encouraged.
Send to:
Paper nominations may be mailed (as one packet) to:
MRF Submissions, OHSU Foundation
Attn: Nicole Good
1121 SW Salmon Street, Suite 100, Mail Code L344
Portland, OR 97205
Nomination deadline: 5:00 p.m. on May 27, 2016

Contact Nicole Good 503 552-0677 |

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a reply

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>