2014 Graduation Ceremony

Four years ago the class of 2014 attended their White Coat Ceremony where they were inducted into pharmacy school by receiving their white coats. Among peers and family members, these students embarked on a journey into academics and enriching patient care experiences. On June 13th, these same students graduated from OSU College of Pharmacy excited to enter the professional world as pharmacists.

At this year’s ceremony, OSU|OSHU College of Pharmacy conferred 93 Doctor of Pharmacy (PharmD) degrees, 2 Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) degrees, and 1 Master of Science (MS) degree. Furthermore, throughout the 2013-2014 academic year, an additional 4 students completed their required coursework to earn their PhD degree.

Dr. Mark Zabriskie opened the ceremony by addressing the graduates and guests. He began by offering interesting facts about this class, including the average age (29), percentage of male versus female (41% versus 59%), and the percentage of Oregon residents (79%). Additionally, it is notable that 29 graduates will continue their professional development by pursuing postgraduate training in the form of a pharmacy residency.

Fellow classmate Joseph Mousa addressed the 92 present graduates. He reminded them that graduation is not the end of their journey but merely the start of a new chapter. He also highlighted the fact that pharmacy is advancing quickly and encouraged his peers to be leaders as the change continues.

Oregon Health and Science University Provost and Executive Vice President, Dr. Jeanette Mladenovic and Oregon State University Provost and Executive Vice President, Dr. Sabah Randhawa honored the graduates with inspiring speeches. Dr. Mladenovic reiterated Joseph’s words about the changes coming to pharmacy and healthcare. She spoke about the advances she has witnessed throughout her medical career and reassured the graduates they are well prepared to face the challenges of tomorrow.

Dr. Randhawa addressed the class of 2014, congratulating them on the accomplishment they have achieved through their hard work. He also spoke about the importance of the college’s collaboration with OHSU and the inter-professional education the students have received over the last four years. He, too, assured them they are well prepared to be exceptional healthcare providers.

While all graduates were celebrated on graduation day, a few exceptional students were recognized for their outstanding work over the last four years. Drs. Dave Bearden and Mark Leid presented the following 11 students with 9 distinguished awards for the work they have done in the classroom, clinics, and community:

• Leslie Minner: Mylan Excellence in Pharmacy Award
• Amy Higginson: Excellence in Clinical Communication Award sponsored by Facts and Comparison and Lexicomp
• Tina Patel: Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database Recognition Award
• Robert Lacharite: United States Public Health Services Excellence in Public Health Pharmacy Practice Award
• Tarah Authier and Joseph Mousa: Merck Outstanding Student in Pharmacy Award
• Stellar Yi: Teva Pharmaceuticals, U.S.A., Outstanding Student Award
• Long Trinh: Eli Lilly Achievement Award
• Pamela Soh: APhA-ASP Senior Recognition Certificate
• Michelle Pfeifer and Tabitha Purice: College of Pharmacy Outstanding Graduate Award

In closing, Dr. Zabriskie welcomed the graduates to the OSU College of Pharmacy alumni family. He encouraged them to continue their relationship with the college by attending continuing education programs, submitting news stories to be included in the BEAVERx newsletters, or cheering on the Beavers at sporting events on campus.

After the ceremony, graduates reunited with their friends and families outside LaSells Stewart Center for a dessert reception sponsored by long-standing OSU Pharmacy Partner, Fred Meyer.

More pictures are available on the College of Pharmacy Facebook page.

Congratulations class of 2014!

Comments are closed.